Meet GirlMogul Rose

GirlMogul Rose
GirlMogul Rose


Code Name:  Rose

Address: XXXX Rural Route 4, Weston

Age:  12

Collected Data:

Family: Father – farmer and cable company employee.

Mother – farmer and teacher.  Raises sheep for wool and makes cheese.

Sister – younger

Mother homeschools Rose and her sister

Favorite Books: Harry Potter series…but can’t pick a favorite

Favorite Subject – history and English.  Likes them both a lot.  Math is ok too.

Hobbies – Reading. Researching and writing, riding horses.. 

In her words:

Describe yourself: I live on a farm on the outskirts of Weston.  My parents moved out there from the city when I was little.  My mom was a teacher, but now she works on raising her sheep, making cheese and teaching us.  My dad also works on the farm, but her works for the cable company as well, doing installations and repairs.  He’s really into technical things and has a workshop out back that is filled with bits and pieces of old motors, tvs, antennas and other stuff.  And toasters.  He’s always fixing toasters for the neighbors.

I have been home schooled for as long as I can remember, but it’s not like I never see anyone, we do a lot of group things with other homeschool kids – we get together for science and math lessons a lot.  The history and English stuff I can do on my own, since I really love to read.  We also do lessons on the computer and listen to lectures from professors when we’re driving in the car – my mom doesn’t believe we should waste any moment for learning.

In the spring and summer I work on the vegetable garden.  I grow all organic vegetables and fruit and sell them at a farmstand in front of the house.  It’s a lot of work, but I get to keep most of the money, except for what I need to pay to my sister to help and anything my parents invest to help me out.  I have to save some of the money, but the rest I can use for whatever I want.  I spend a bunch on books – even though I go to the library all the time, there always seems to be a new book I can find that I want to read.  And I like having them on my bookshelves.  In fact, I like books so much that I set up a library in the attic – it’s my special place, with lots of shelves, things I collect and my desk for writing. I am even saving for my own laptop with a wireless connection so I can do all my research from there.

Please tell us who your hero is and why?: My mom and Amelia Earnhardt – she was the first woman to fly around the world.

Someone from History you admire: Eleanor Roosevelt

If you could have lunch with anyone, who would it be: Sasha and Malia Obama. Or Eleanor Roosevelt.

Your favorite place: The Weston Municipal Library

A place you would like to visit: Italy. I want to see all the old statues and history and walk around those old buildings. And England – I want to see a castle up close.

What do you want to be when you grow up: A writer. I think I want to live in the city for awhile.  Farm life is ok, but I think I am ready for something more exciting. Maybe I could spend some of the time in the city and some in the country?

Why do you want to help out with Weston’s Jr Civic Pride Committee?

I want to help Weston celebrate its past. I also like history and the story of Weston’s founder.  I would like the opportunity to work with other kids on a project and of course it would be way cool to win the summer camp scholarship – I would really like to do the creative arts program.

Dr. Smith’s Comments:

Rose seems like a good fit for the program.  She appears to have a wide base of knowledge and love learning. Even though she sounds like a bookworm, it seems like she knows how to apply her knowledge – her work on her farmstand sounds like a good background for The GirlMogul Project.

Abby’ Comments: I agree – Rose seems super cool and a self starter. Can’t wait to challenge her to a trivia contest.